Share Print

Any student having issues with residency requirements will need to come into the Admissions office and present proof of residency. 

If the student is OVER 24:

If the student is UNDER 24:

Please note that in order for a student to receive in-state tuition fees, the student must have been a resident of Florida for at least 1-year.

The following requirements are needed to prove Florida residency:

Step 1: Go to https://www.broward.edu/admissions/apply.html

Step 2: Click on Pay Less Tuition. Florida residents pay a discounted tuition rate. See how you can pay less tuition.

Please note, the Florida Residency Reclassification document provides an overview of the steps students and/or parents will need to take. One of the criteria consists of 12 months of residency in the state of Florida. For more information on this process, visit our website.

Step 3: Residency documents should be submitted to the campus you are applying to

• A. Hugh Adams Central Campus: central-admissions@broward.edu

• North Campusnorth-admissions@broward.edu

• Judson A. Samuels South Campus: south-admissions@broward.edu

• Willis Holcombe Centerwhc-admissions@broward.edu

• Miramar West Centermwc-admissions@broward.edu

• Broward College Online:online-admissions@broward.edu

**Documents are processed Monday - Friday during business hours and can take 48 hours. 

*Note: If a student is charged the out-of-state tuition rate and requests to be updated to an in-state tuition rate, with all the necessary documentation by the drop/add deadline, the student will receive a refund and it will be issued in the same form of payment to which it was received. If the tuition rate request is not received by the drop/add date, the student will not be refunded, and the approved tuition rate will be updated for the next semester.

You may locate your current residency status on your MyBC homepage under the “My Financial Summary”. You may also view your status on your class schedule.

(Admissions > Admissions Questions) 

Last updated: 2020-06-17 09:28 AM 2213-1530316
Help us improve our support. Was this article helpful?